Art Inspiring Music: Spectacle and Leisure in Paris

February 20, 2017

Capturing the spirit of Paris at the turn of the century, this concert will present chamber music works of Claude Debussy, Jules Massenet, and Erik Satie. Featured performers include Department of Music faculty Kelly Daniel-Decker, soprano; Megan Stout, harp; Vincent Varvel, guitar; Jane Price, violin; and Laura Reycraft, viola.

This program is a collaboration with the Department of Music in Arts & Sciences in conjunction with the exhibition Spectacle and Leisure in Paris: Degas to Mucha and will take place at the Kemper Art Museum.


Enrique Granados (1867–1916)
Danza epañola, Op. 37, No. 5 (1890)

Erik Satie (1866–1925)
Elegie (1886)
Sylvie (1886)
Les Anges (1886)
Je Te Veux (1897)

Jules Massenet (1842–1912)
Meditation from Thaïs (1894)

Claude Debussy (1862–1918)
Fleur des Blés (1881)
Nuit d’Etoiles (1880)
Beau Soir (1891)
Danse Sacrée et Danse Profane (1904)

Image credit

Edgar Degas (French, 1834–1917), Chanteuse de café-concert (The Café-Concert Singer), 1875–76. Pastel over monotype on paper, 6 1/2 x 4 3/4". Private collection.